M is for autism by The Students Of Limpsfield Grange School and Vicky Martin

M is for autism

Buy M is for Autism at Amazon. Buy M is for Autism at JKP books. Buy M is for autism at Hive M. That’s what I’d like you to call me please. I’ll tell you why later. Welcome to M’s world. It’s tipsy-turvy, sweet and sour, and the beast of anxiety lurks outside classrooms ready to […]

A good picture book day

picture book haul

Yesterday I took the three youngest over to a home ed fencing session near Cambridge. A long way to go for a couple of hours, but we made the most of it with a visit to a nearby library for the little ones while Small was fencing, and then we spent the afternoon in a […]

One by Sarah Crossan

wpid-img_20150703_155531.jpg

Just finished One by @SarahCrossan and now want to read everything else she's ever written. But not shopping lists. Cos that would be weird. — Jax Blunt (@liveotherwise) July 3, 2015 I read One in one sitting I think. It’s that kind of book. It wraps around you and carries you along, though it’s not […]

A Higgidy garden picnic while reading Rebecca

Higgidy quiche and Rebecca

A little while ago I was sent a lovely picnic bag from Higgidy and vouchers to try out their quiches. The idea was that we’d have a family picnic. The reality is that that was the week both the little children got sick in succession, and apart from shopping, the furthest I got from the […]

Playing with Paper – a somethingosaur

somethingosaur

A night or two ago our bedtime story was The somethingosaur by Tony Mitton, illustrated by Russell Ayto. It’s a lovely story of a little lost something who treks all over the ancient world, looking for his mother. It rhymes, which makes it easy to read aloud, there’s mild peril (rhyming creature with eat yer!) […]

fire colour one by Jenny Valentine

fire-colour-one-jenny-valen

Affiliate links (thank you for your support) Buy at amazon buy at Hive Iris’s father, Ernest, is at the end of his life and she hasn’t even met him. Her best friend, Thurston, is somewhere on the other side of the world. Everything she thought she knew is up in flames. Now her mother has […]

Top Writing Tips from author Matt Cain on Nothing but Trouble blog tour

Nothing but Trouble Matt Cain

Buy at amazon (affiliate) Lola Grant is the hottest pop star in Britain and she’s about to go global. But behind the music, her addiction to bad boys is taking her personal life in a dangerous direction. When it comes to men, Lola just can’t stay away from trouble – and her self-control is pushed […]

Be a happier parent with NLP by Judy Bartowiak

Judy Bartowiak - Be a happier parent with NLP)

buy at amazon This may be an unexpected post to see on this blog – I’m not sure that I’ve ever reviewed or even mentioned a parenting advice book or manual previously. That isn’t because I don’t read them though it’s irregular, it’s more because I don’t believe any one system has all the answers. […]

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Code name Verity Elizabeth Wein

buy at Amazon Only in wartime could a stalwart lass from Manchester rub shoulders with a Scottish aristocrat, one a pilot, the other a special operations executive. When a vital mission goes wrong, and one of the friends has to bail out of a faulty plane over France, she is captured by the Gestapo and […]

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak

improbably-theory-of-ana-an

Buy at Amazon Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award-winning author Brian Katcher’s hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention. When […]

50 queries in 1.556 seconds.