Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Code name Verity Elizabeth Wein

buy at Amazon Only in wartime could a stalwart lass from Manchester rub shoulders with a Scottish aristocrat, one a pilot, the other a special operations executive. When a vital mission goes wrong, and one of the friends has to bail out of a faulty plane over France, she is captured by the Gestapo and […]

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak

improbably-theory-of-ana-an

Buy at Amazon Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award-winning author Brian Katcher’s hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention. When […]

I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

I Let You Go

Buy at Amazon Buy at Hive I’m thrilled today to be a part of the blog tour for the Sunday Times bestselling, Richard and Judy Club pic (deep breath)I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh. I’ve known Clare since before she was Clare, when she blogged under another name entirely, and hosted a guest post […]

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

uprooted naomi novik

Coming up Roses by Rachael Lucas

wpid-img_20150521_123742.jpg

Coming up Roses Rachael Lucas Love can be a thorny issue. Buy at amazon Buy for Kobo Buy at Hive It’s no secret to anyone here that I’m a huge fan of Rachael Lucas, and that’s not just because I’ve known her for over 12 years now, give or take. Got to love the internet […]

An interview with Kate Atkinson, and some thoughts on A God in Ruins.

Kate Atkinson (c) Euan Myles

affiliate links – thanks for your support! Buy at Amazon.co.uk| Buy at amazon.com I have a confession to make – I am a bad book blogger. (Quiet at the back there!) No, seriously, in this particular case I have let you down. I have had A God in Ruins sitting here waiting for review, and […]

Carrie’s War by Nina Bawden.

Carrie's war by Nina Bawden

A little while ago, I set Small a project – to explore the Second World War primarily through fiction. To get him started, I dug around our shelves and our many secondhand bookshops, and I found a few good titles. The first one he started was Carrie’s War. Carrie’s War (A Puffin Book) at Amazon […]

Memories of Mort – a review.

theres-no-justice

Warning. This is more of a meandering through my memory than a classic review. It is not guaranteed spoiler free, though hopefully I’ve been subtle enough to whet your appetite rather than blow the whole plot. Bear that in mind if you choose to read on. Affiliate links (thank you for your support) Buy at […]

Angelina Ballerina – breaking the fourth wall in picture books

drawing-angelina

The Angelina Ballerina books form a series of stories about the heroine, Angelina (a mouse) and her friends and family (also, unsurprisingly, mice). Although ballet is an important interest, it’s not a feature of every story and in fact is barely mentioned in Angelina’s Birthday by Katharine Holabird (Author) and Helen Craig (Illustrator) (affiliate link). […]

But what do you do all day?

hero shape and card game

Every day is different. At this time of year I’m trying to tease the children away from their screens and into the great outdoors, though to be honest, it doesn’t usually take all that much encouragement. This week, Smallest is enjoying Early Readers from Orion children’s books. She grabbed them out of my hands and […]

53 queries in 1.244 seconds.