Otherworld by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller

Otherworld – the game is compulsively playable. The book is compulsively readable. Utterly immersive, with a story that rocks along despite its main character striving to be unlikeable. He’s not fond of himself, and doesn’t see why anyone else would feel otherwise. Give it a try, but make sure you’ve plenty of time. Once you […]

M is for autism by The Students Of Limpsfield Grange School and Vicky Martin

Buy M is for Autism at Amazon. Buy M is for Autism at JKP books. Buy M is for autism at Hive M. That’s what I’d like you to call me please. I’ll tell you why later. Welcome to M’s world. It’s tipsy-turvy, sweet and sour, and the beast of anxiety lurks outside classrooms ready to […]

One by Sarah Crossan

Just finished One by @SarahCrossan and now want to read everything else she's ever written. But not shopping lists. Cos that would be weird. — Jax Blunt (@liveotherwise) July 3, 2015 I read One in one sitting I think. It’s that kind of book. It wraps around you and carries you along, though it’s not […]

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak

Buy at Amazon Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award-winning author Brian Katcher’s hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention. When […]

Empire (Chronicles of the Invaders 2) – John Connolly and Jennifer Ridyard

Empire (Chronicles of the Invaders 2) As a first book to kick off 2015, and my new Read 52 challenge, this has set the bar high – it’s an excellent read. I would recommend starting with Conquest (Chronicles of the Invaders 1), obviously if you’ve not already read it though (thought I’d reviewed it but […]

Reading in the garden – Earth Flight.

I have a lot on my todo list. order paperback| order kindle | order at Hive So obviously, what I did yesterday, was sit in the garden and read a book. I’ve already read and reviewed Earth Girl and Earth Star by Janet Edwards, so I was desperate to get my hands on book 3 […]

Independent Study (The Testing 2) Joelle Charbonneau

Independent Study is the second in The Testing series by Joelle Charbonneau. I reviewed the Testing last summer, and said at the time I thought that some of the comparisons with the Hunger Games were a little overplayed and a bit harsh. Do I still feel that way? Yes and no. This is a different […]

Acid by Emma Pass.

I’ve been struggling with reading recently. I’ve started lots of books, and got quite a way into some of them, got interrupted by life and just never really felt like going back. I hate it. It’s kind of untidy in my head, half started stories, but none of them dragging me back, all feeling rather […]

The 5th Wave – Rick Yancey.

Review of new YA alien invasion the 5th Wave The Passage meets Ender’s Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey. After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust […]

99 queries in 1.113 seconds.