Finding Black Beauty (and 10 other horse stories you might enjoy)


Post contains affiliate links. Find it at Amazon. Finding Black Beauty by Lou Kuenzler. An enchanting retelling of Anna Sewell’s classic horse story, a moving and uplifting tale of friendship. A horse needs the help of a young girl… Aspiring groom Josie comes to love her spirited charge, a black colt called Beauty. When he […]

A boy made of blocks by Keith Stuart


I kind of wanted to hate this book. Yet another story of an autistic boy, rescued from his lonely locked in state by some external power, this time in the form of a computer game. But I didn’t. I don’t entirely love it either. Repeated references to the autism scale, what is that? Spectrum, not […]

On the edge of gone by Corinne Duyvis


January 29, 2035. That’s the day the comet is scheduled to hit—the big one. Denise and her mother and sister, Iris, have been assigned to a temporary shelter outside their hometown of Amsterdam to wait out the blast, but Iris is nowhere to be found, and at the rate Denise’s drug-addicted mother is going, they’ll […]

Never let me go Kazuo Ishiguro


Buy Never Let Me Go at Amazon (affiliate) In one of the most memorable novels of recent years, Kazuo Ishiguro imagines the lives of a group of students growing up in a darkly skewered version of contemporary England. Narrated by Kathy, now 31, Never Let Me Go hauntingly dramatises her attempts to come to terms […]

M is for autism by The Students Of Limpsfield Grange School and Vicky Martin

M is for autism

Buy M is for Autism at Amazon. Buy M is for Autism at JKP books. Buy M is for autism at Hive M. That’s what I’d like you to call me please. I’ll tell you why later. Welcome to M’s world. It’s tipsy-turvy, sweet and sour, and the beast of anxiety lurks outside classrooms ready to […]

One by Sarah Crossan


Just finished One by @SarahCrossan and now want to read everything else she's ever written. But not shopping lists. Cos that would be weird. — Jax Blunt (@liveotherwise) July 3, 2015 I read One in one sitting I think. It’s that kind of book. It wraps around you and carries you along, though it’s not […]

fire colour one by Jenny Valentine


Affiliate links (thank you for your support) Buy at amazon buy at Hive Iris’s father, Ernest, is at the end of his life and she hasn’t even met him. Her best friend, Thurston, is somewhere on the other side of the world. Everything she thought she knew is up in flames. Now her mother has […]

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Code name Verity Elizabeth Wein

buy at Amazon Only in wartime could a stalwart lass from Manchester rub shoulders with a Scottish aristocrat, one a pilot, the other a special operations executive. When a vital mission goes wrong, and one of the friends has to bail out of a faulty plane over France, she is captured by the Gestapo and […]

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak


Buy at Amazon Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award-winning author Brian Katcher’s hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention. When […]

I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

I Let You Go

Buy at Amazon Buy at Hive I’m thrilled today to be a part of the blog tour for the Sunday Times bestselling, Richard and Judy Club pic (deep breath)I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh. I’ve known Clare since before she was Clare, when she blogged under another name entirely, and hosted a guest post […]

101 queries in 1.003 seconds.